General Faculties Council

As set out in the Alberta Post-Secondary Learning Act, subject to the authority of the Board, General Faculties Council (GFC) is responsible for the academic and student affairs of the University.

Specific powers of GFC include granting of degrees, approval of the University's Academic Plan, academic programs, academic policies, academic awards, and the University Calendar.

GFC is Chaired by the President and is composed of 158 members, including all university Vice-Presidents, all Faculty Deans, professors, students, librarians, and academic and non-academic staff.

Information relating to print and other materials used by GFC and GFC committees as it pertains to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act can be accessed through the Governance Toolkit section of this site.

Click on the links at the right for more information about GFC and each of its committees.

Other Information

Meeting Schedule

General Terms of Reference for GFC Standing Committees

Other Committees to which GFC Elects Representatives

Committee Contacts 

Notification of Standing Committee Meeting Materials 

If you would like to begin receiving regular, upcoming meeting notifications in reference to a GFC Standing Committee(s), please subscribe now